🔖 Journey to Freelancing: M. Green's Story

+ CONTRIBUTING AUTHOR: M. Green

 Some of my earliest memories are about my parents talking owing a business. Today I am in my fifties. I work as a freelance researcher, writer, and have an online shop. My sister is a freelance photographer. My mother is a freelance Photoshop artist and writer at nearly eighty. It wasn’t always this way for any of us, though, and it hasn’t always been an easy road to get here.

 In the 1970’s my parents found a pet store that was struggling but established and they bought it. My mother picked me up from school every day and I worked around the shop. I came to love each and every one of the animals. I eventually moved away to go to college and my parents ended up getting regular jobs to have insurance and retirement packages.

 I got a degree in English. I found out that writing novels on a typewriter and sending them off to publishers wasn’t easy. I was going to graduate school and keeping up with family and a couple of horses. Home computers were new and a computer seemed like a cool way to write papers and keep track of expenses. I was good with the computer. When a job opened up for an assistant-supervisor in a computer lab at the college, it seemed like a good opportunity.

 I worked with computers in academic environments for years. I had a side job writing animal stories for a local newspaper. Later on, I worked as a technical writer. I found that I had a natural talent for research, so I also did some moonlighting using computers to do skip-tracing. I was buying junk on eBay when the first weeks it was online. The internet just kept growing.

 When blogs were new, I started blogs about horses, pets, computers, and private investigation. I found one small site that had caught onto the fact that many companies couldn’t afford their own full-time bloggers. I started writing short articles for a dollar each.